MHCA acknowledges it is located on Treaty One land and the homeland of the Metis Nation

MHCA’s Lee Woods named volunteer of the year: Tourism Winnipeg

MHCA Marketing and Communications Coordinator Lee Woods has received a distinguished community award for volunteerism.

Tourism Winnipeg has awarded Woods, an MHCA employee since 2018, the Volunteer of the Year Award, presented to a volunteer in the hospitality industry who exhibits excellence and dedication in his work to provide outstanding service to enhance visitors’ experience. The award was presented virtually to Woods on Thursday, May 6.

Until 2020, Woods was Pride Winnipeg’s volunteer Vice-President of Marketing. Woods began volunteering with Pride in 2017, prior to moving to Winnipeg the next year.

Tourism Winnipeg paid tribute to Woods’s versatility and mastery of marketing and communications platforms.

As Pride’s Vice-President of Marketing, his background in graphic design and tourism contributes to making the Pride Winnipeg Festival look fantastic each year. Along with creating and managing a large part of Pride’s marketing campaigns by themselves, Lee is committed to seeing other Pride Winnipeg projects through. This includes the new Pride Winnipeg website, which he designed and launched himself, all while tackling other projects at the same time. Lee jumps at the chance to help the Gender, Sexual and Relationship Diverse (GSRD) community shine, whether as a mentor, by helping to bring more people to the festival or by assisting fellow volunteers.

“I want to congratulate Lee on his award and thank them for his service to our community and helping to have made the Pride Winnipeg Festival a destination,” MHCA Board Chair Nicole Chabot said. “Tourism is a vital industry in our economy and Lee’s work helps show off what Winnipeg has to offer to those who come from afar to enjoy the festival. This exemplifies the essence of community spirit.”

MHCA President Chris Lorenc said he wasn’t surprised Woods received such an award, but pleased that those beyond the MHCA’s staff and members see the rich talent and dedication that Woods brings to the MHCA’s operations, programs and marketing materials every day.

“He haa made a huge difference to the bench strength of MHCA staff. His work, especially, in redesigning our website and in ensuring all marketing materials are professionally produced has elevated MHCA’s profile, and service to its members,” Lorenc said.

“Plus, he’s just such a joy to work with and everyone at the MHCA knows he is the last to extol his accomplishments so the Tourism Winnipeg award is doubly gratifying that way.”

To view the Tourism Winnipeg tribute video to Lee Woods click here.

Chair’s Gala

November 18, 2022
RBC Convention Centre

Close to 650pp attended from both industry, government and stakeholder partners.  It was the closing of Nicole Chabot’s two year term as Chair.  Dennis Cruise of Bituminex Paving was welcomed as the new Chair.

Press [Esc] to close

2022 Heavy Santa

December 16, 2022
David Livingstone School

This event was made possible through fundraising at the MHCA Chair’s Gala and Spring Mixer.

104 goodie bags and presents were prepared for the grades 1-4 students at David Livingstone School. 

Press [Esc] to close

Awards Breakfast & Annual General Meeting

November 18, 2022
RBC Convention Centre

Manitoba Transportation & Infrastructure (MTI) Award Winner

  • Grading – Strilkiwski Contracting Ltd.: PTH 6 Grahamdale
  • Paving – Coco Paving o/a Russell Redi-Mix: Bituminous Reconstruction PTH 83
  • Urban Works – Coco Paving o/a Russell Redi-Mix: Bituminous Reconstruction PA 634 and Bituminous Pavement PTH 5
  • Special Projects – Mekhana Development Corp/Arnason Industries Ltd: Theresa Point Airport
  • Major Structures – D. Steele Construction: Bridge Replacement over the Red River Floodway on PTH 59N
  • Minor Structures – Moncrief Construction Ltd.: Reinforced concrete box culvert on PTH 5
  • Water Management – Brunet Ltd.: Flood response, Morris ring dike closure

200 members and guests gathered to hear greetings from Premier Heather Stefanson and the newly elected Mayor of Winnipeg, Scott Gillingham. Hon. Doyle Piwniuk, Minister, Manitoba Infrastructure, handed out the MTI Awards.

31 companies were recognized for their milestone membership commitments.

Matthew Neziol, of Bayview Construction, received the Safety Leader Award.

Press [Esc] to close