MHCA acknowledges it is located on Treaty One land and the homeland of the Metis Nation

Party leaders repeat promise on trade infrastructure investment: Debate

PC Leader Heather Stefanson and NDP Leader Wab Kinew both reiterated their commitments to invest in trade infrastructure at a leaders’ debate hosted by the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce September 20.

Stefanson noted her party was been fully behind investing in provincial trade corridors and pressing for the federal government to initiate a national trade infrastructure strategy.

Kinew again promised to fully expend the annual highways capital program within the budget year, stressing “infrastructure is absolutely crucial to powering our economy.”

Liberal Leader Dougald Lamont noted that Manitoba’s “strategic infrastructure” is in terrible shape.

The debate saw the leaders speak at length about how they would grow the economy, with emphasis on rebuilding the health care system and finding solutions to the homelessness problem.

Stefanson, further, told the lunch crowd she will not lock down the economy again, noting the “unintended consequences” that followed during the COVID-19 pandemic. Kinew subsequently said his party, too, would not use such restrictions as shutting businesses.

To read more on the leaders’ exchanges during the debate click here.

Chair’s Gala

November 18, 2022
RBC Convention Centre

Close to 650pp attended from both industry, government and stakeholder partners.  It was the closing of Nicole Chabot’s two year term as Chair.  Dennis Cruise of Bituminex Paving was welcomed as the new Chair.

Press [Esc] to close

2022 Heavy Santa

December 16, 2022
David Livingstone School

This event was made possible through fundraising at the MHCA Chair’s Gala and Spring Mixer.

104 goodie bags and presents were prepared for the grades 1-4 students at David Livingstone School. 

Press [Esc] to close

Awards Breakfast & Annual General Meeting

November 18, 2022
RBC Convention Centre

Manitoba Transportation & Infrastructure (MTI) Award Winner

  • Grading – Strilkiwski Contracting Ltd.: PTH 6 Grahamdale
  • Paving – Coco Paving o/a Russell Redi-Mix: Bituminous Reconstruction PTH 83
  • Urban Works – Coco Paving o/a Russell Redi-Mix: Bituminous Reconstruction PA 634 and Bituminous Pavement PTH 5
  • Special Projects – Mekhana Development Corp/Arnason Industries Ltd: Theresa Point Airport
  • Major Structures – D. Steele Construction: Bridge Replacement over the Red River Floodway on PTH 59N
  • Minor Structures – Moncrief Construction Ltd.: Reinforced concrete box culvert on PTH 5
  • Water Management – Brunet Ltd.: Flood response, Morris ring dike closure

200 members and guests gathered to hear greetings from Premier Heather Stefanson and the newly elected Mayor of Winnipeg, Scott Gillingham. Hon. Doyle Piwniuk, Minister, Manitoba Infrastructure, handed out the MTI Awards.

31 companies were recognized for their milestone membership commitments.

Matthew Neziol, of Bayview Construction, received the Safety Leader Award.

Press [Esc] to close